About Me

           Kelley & me Aug. 2004

My name is Cheryl Bradley.  I am 32 years old and live in La Porte, TX.  I have an undergraduate degree in microbiology & a graduate degree in Cell & Molecular Biology, but at present, I am a SAHM to my 2 year old daughter, Tessa.  I have been married to my husband for 5 years.

This blog is my first attempt at blogging, about life in general, some blog giveaways and parenting & mental health.  I am passionate about extended breastfeeding and attachment parenting.  I also love to read & work out.  I have dealt with depression in some form for as long as I can remember (there does seem to be a genetic element in my case) and while I was in college, an eating disorder (anorexia & compulsive exercise).  I have been recovered from the ED for nearly 10 years now (save some negative thinking patterns that are still remnants of it).  I don't know if it is possible for me to ever be 100% free of ED thinking, but I have been recovered in actions at least since 2001.  I also suffer from anxiety & panic disorder, which came on around the time I weaned off Effexor and has not gone away.  Currently, I take Cymbalta for depression (yes, I know, too new to be approved for breastfeeding but I felt the benefits outweighed the risks and my daughter was older by the time I started it), Xanax as needed for severe anxiety & panic attacks, and Trazodone for sleep.  I have been on a lot of different meds over the years but seem most stable on this combo.

My husband is currently unemployed.  He had been working for a start-up company & the investors didn't have the money to re-invest after the last year.  He and most of the employees but one were let go.  He is a Ph.D. Physical Chemist, got his doctorate from Rice University under a Nobel-prize winning professor (Dr. Rick Smalley) and still he can't find work.  This economic situation is beyond frustrating.